Welcome to the Texas Energy Law Association

The Texas Energy Law Association (“TELA”) is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization that supports, promotes, and encourages legal education, research, and writing in the area of energy law. As an alumni association for the Texas Journal of Oil, Gas, and Energy Law at the University of Texas (“TJOGEL”), the primary focus of TELA is to act as an advisory and support resource to TJOGEL and its members.

TELA Featured in Texas Law Magazine

The Texas Journal of Oil, Gas, and Energy Law, a student-edited journal devoted to promoting scholarship in the legal energy field, launched five years ago. Read More →

Ernest E. Smith, UT School of Law

"With the upsurge of new technologies, the emerging interest in renewables, and the need to develop resources in a sustainable way, these recent graduates are going to shape the future in ways we can’t yet imagine.”

Recent Updates


Congratulations to 2014-2015 TJOGEL Executive Board

  • Jonathan L. Seliger, Editor-in-Chief
  • Jessica E. Sewell, Managing Editor
  • Cornelius M. Sweers, Recent Developments Editor
  • Michael H. Borofsky, Chief Articles Editor
  • Guillermo A. Alarcón, Director of Submissions
  • S. Cody Dreibelbis, Symposium Director
  • Patrick J. Samper, Administrative Editor
  • F. Adam Abulawi, Chief Financial Officer
  • Mar20

    2014-2015 Energy Law Scholarship Competiton

    The University of Texas School of Law and the Texas Energy Law Association (“TELA”) are pleased to offer scholarships to rising 2L and 3L students at UT Law with a demonstrated interest in energy law.  UT Law and TELA will award at least two scholarships for the 2014-2015 academic year. Scholarship recipients will be announced on April 2, 2014. Recipients will be recognized at the TJOGEL/TELA Spring Happy Hour on April 3, 2014 (visit the TJOGEL website for April 3rd Happy Hour time and location). For more information, visit: http://www.utexas.edu/law/centers/energy/news/2014-2015-ut-lawtela-scholarships/